MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Problems ? Get help here!
Post Reply
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

I have used my Oceanic ProPlus 3 and MacDive for a number of years, connecting with the (damn expensive and poorly fitting) cable, which works often. LOL
All of a suden, when I plug the cable into the dive computer, the PC symbol is not displayed as it should. I suspected the cable and and bought a new cable, still didn't work.

Does it sound like a software issue related to Macdive, a Macintosh USB port/driver issue, or a dive computer issue? I'd really like to resolve this and it seems I need help.


-m
User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4331
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by nick »

Sounds like an issue with the Pro Plus and the cable. Maybe the terminal is dirty.
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

thanks, will clean and retry.

-m
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

Cleaned the contacts and made no difference.

I input the data manually as a workaround, but don't seem to be able to do that for the gas related caregories.(start, end, tank)I also get no graph of the dive profile.

Back to the not connecting and not seeing the PC symbol even with a new cable.


anybody?

-m
User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4331
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by nick »

If it doesn't go in to PC mode automatically, then perhaps your best bet is Oceanic themselves. It sounds like a hardware problem.
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

Thanks, will do.

-m
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

Response from Oceanic:


from: Kennedy Bailey
11:03 AM (12 minutes ago)

to me:

"Our hardware is not made to work with MacDive. Pelagic software is used under EDiverLog"
HUH????????????

-mg
User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4331
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by nick »

The Pro Plus not going in to PC mode is nothing to do with MacDive.

Why even mention it?
Frogman Marty
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:20 am
Dive Computer: Oceanic

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by Frogman Marty »

I agree. It was Oceanic's response. i will try a friends proplus 3.

Much thanks.


-mg
User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4331
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: MacDive not Connecting With ProPlus 3 anymore

Post by nick »

I meant why mention MacDive to them - it's not officially supported. They can be a little touchy about blaming third parties rather than addressing the actual problem.
Post Reply