Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

MacDive for iPhone. Feedback, requests, bug reports.. let us know!
Post Reply
Landau
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:36 am
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Core

Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by Landau » Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:23 pm

Just got a transmitter pod for my Suunto Eon Core so I'm traking pressure and SAC for the first time. Being a Canadian we tend to use US equipment so most SPGs sold here us PSI, but most (or at least I) use metres for depth and degrees celcius for teperature.

I've got my Eon core setup ths way so it matches my SPG, but can't see how (or if) I can do this in Mac-Dive for the iphone.

Any way to do it? Thanks

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by nick » Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:20 pm

I have thus far neglected to bring this option over from macOS, but I will look in to it when I get back home.

Landau
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:36 am
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Core

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by Landau » Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:44 pm

Thanks Nick

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by nick » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:59 pm

So on macOS, the temperature is in C but depth is feet and pressure is PSI. That's what I would look at bringing over.

Alternatively, I could just consider adding separate preferences for distance, pressure and temperature. I've tended to avoid wanting to do that, but perhaps it's easier and more flexible. It would just take a little more time for me to implement that as it's a bit more work.

Landau
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:36 am
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Core

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by Landau » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:34 am

Hi Nick,

For me, the most important ones are Depth in Metres and Pressure in PSI - and to go with pressure Tank size in Cubic Feet. I have no idea how many litres the 117 CF steel tank I used this weekend is.

Thanks.

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by nick » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:05 am

Sure.

I started working on this last night, I have it mostly working on iOS, so you can just pick what you want for the three main units of measure (depth, pressure, temperature). This is more flexible and allows bespoke configurations such as you are after.

Landau
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:36 am
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Core

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by Landau » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:21 pm

Thanks so much Nick. Looking forward to the release!

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Any way to have some unts metric and some imperial?

Post by nick » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:17 pm

No problem. Feel free to email me if you want to try out the beta version on TestFlight and help make sure it’s all correct.

Post Reply