MacDive Forums

Discussion and Support for MacDive
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:28 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
Would it be possible to integrate MacDive with the share-function for images in Ios?

When I hit the share-button in Lightroom for is, I get the opportunity to send the image to lots of apps as — but MacDive is not one of them. To get your image from Lightroom, you must first save it to is images, and from there you can find them in MacDive. This results in a duplicate image in Lightroom since all my images captured on my iPhone are auto-added to Lightroom.

So, an integration to the share-image option in is would be great!

Yours
Espen


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3496
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
I will look in to it. Unfortunately this raises a number of questions around what happens to the image (based on what metadata is available for a given image, etc) so it's not as simple as it sounds.

Note that right now MacDive supports "Pasting" copied images in various places (see the User Guide for more). That would be simple to add, if a bit manual. At least you could Copy an image in LR, then switch back to MacDive and I could allow Pasting in to a dive, much as you can with Gear or other things right now. Would that help in the meantime?

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
That would be great!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:28 pm
Posts: 3
Dive Computer: Data Trans
Similarly, I use Mac Photos.

I cannot drag an image from photos to MacDive.
* I CAN drag them to the desktop, then drag that result into MacDive.

When trying to add images via the requestor, it finds SOME images with the assigned dates, but nowhere close to all.
Many of these images are scanned in from photographs, with dates assigned manually. Additionally, I put them in an album labeled 'Scuba Diving.' Even if I try to manually add the photos, it only shows about 8 of 200 photos in the album.

Is there a way to get them to show up so I can add them?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3496
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
espenmoe wrote:
That would be great!


Have done this for the next release. It will be in TestFlight in the next day or two, so you should see it.

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
nick wrote:
espenmoe wrote:
That would be great!


Have done this for the next release. It will be in TestFlight in the next day or two, so you should see it.


Cool!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
v3rlon wrote:
Many of these images are scanned in from photographs, with dates assigned manually.


This is probably caused by changing the date in the wrong metadata-field. Photos have several metadata fields, som do a test on one image, and see if you can figure out what field to change.

Myself I use Lightroom, and can only recommend using this software, since it gives you bether control of the different metadata fields.

Espen :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:28 pm
Posts: 3
Dive Computer: Data Trans
espenmoe wrote:
v3rlon wrote:
Many of these images are scanned in from photographs, with dates assigned manually.


This is probably caused by changing the date in the wrong metadata-field. Photos have several metadata fields, som do a test on one image, and see if you can figure out what field to change.

Myself I use Lightroom, and can only recommend using this software, since it gives you bether control of the different metadata fields.

Espen :-)


I am using Apple photos.
There is an option to 'Adjust date and time' from the top menu. It is how I set all the dates and times given that I scanned the images in long after I took the film pictures. They are also assigned a location in the Cayman Islands. The assigned time and location is the same for photos that do and do not show up for the same dive (i.e. Stingray City).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
v3rlon wrote:
espenmoe wrote:
v3rlon wrote:
Many of these images are scanned in from photographs, with dates assigned manually.


This is probably caused by changing the date in the wrong metadata-field. Photos have several metadata fields, som do a test on one image, and see if you can figure out what field to change.

Myself I use Lightroom, and can only recommend using this software, since it gives you bether control of the different metadata fields.

Espen :-)


I am using Apple photos.
There is an option to 'Adjust date and time' from the top menu. It is how I set all the dates and times given that I scanned the images in long after I took the film pictures. They are also assigned a location in the Cayman Islands. The assigned time and location is the same for photos that do and do not show up for the same dive (i.e. Stingray City).


Find a free metadata analyser and check what fields apple photo actually edits.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:40 am
Posts: 50
Location: Oslo, Norway
Dive Computer: Suunto Eon Steel
espenmoe wrote:
nick wrote:
espenmoe wrote:
That would be great!


Have done this for the next release. It will be in TestFlight in the next day or two, so you should see it.


Cool!


Just tested it: works great!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group