Really disappointed

General MacDive discussion, updates, etc.
alaskaguy
Dive Computer: several

Really disappointed

Post by alaskaguy »

Well, I'm really disappointed with this software. I fear I have wasted $25 ):

I have been using DiveLog for many years without issue. But I am unable to get it to download data from my new Vyper Air, so I went looking for something else. Looks like it has not been updated in years, so no big surprise there.

I found MacDive. I used the trial to verify it could connect to the Vyper Air and download data, and it was able to do so. I though to myself, "great!" So I paid my $25 to get the license so I could download all the data.

Now I am disappointed to find that the way MacDive manages data really doesn't operate as expected, nor meet my needs. Having to have all dives in one huge log doesn't work for me. I want each dives for each trip in its own file. I want the dives for each of my 3 dive computers in their own file. I want to be able to download data into a "holding file" while I look at the data and compare it against the other two dive computers. I want to be able to open multiple files at once (pretty much like any other software in the world). MacDive doesn't do any of this basic, basic stuff.

OK, fine, all I bought it for was to access the dive computer and get me the data anyway. I figure I would export the data in UDCF format, and then import the data in UDCF format into DiveLog, and manage it there. Nope. The data exports and creates a file, but when I go to import, I get a Java error: lava.NumberFormatException: empty String. So, that's useless.