What dive computer should I purchase?

General MacDive discussion, updates, etc.
prbrinkman

What dive computer should I purchase?

Post by prbrinkman »

Thanks for reading:

I am somewhat new to diving and wanted to see if you experts could provide me some insight as to what are some of the best wrist dive computers that I could purchase.

I am looking to have it sync with a mac program like this (MacDive) as well as work on multiple devices (iPhone, iPad) if possible.

I appreciate any of your comments and/or suggestions.

Thanks,
Paul
Jean-Francois
Dive Computer: Perdix

Re: What dive computer should I purchase?

Post by Jean-Francois »

It's hard to answer your question right away, we need a bit more info.

What's your current level ? how often do you dive ? what kind of dive are you doing ? what do you plan to do later (nitrox, trmix) ? Where do you dive (sea, lake, cave etc) ?

There is a plethora of dive computer out there so answering those questions will help you to narrow down your search.
vonore

Post by vonore »

I am not the originator of this thread but I have the same question. I just got certified and my friends and I plan to go on extended dive trips at least once a year. We are going to Belize in November for three days of diving. I anticipate many dives in Panama City and then several local dives at the quarries here in TN. I plan to get Nitrox certified and possibly go on to be dry-suit certified. I seriously doubt I will go to technical diving, nor will my friends.

I have looked at the Mares Puck, Aeris Elite T3, XP 10, Cressi Leonardo, and many others I can't recall right now. Honestly, I am overwhelmed. I read reviews and study the products but it seems there are always issues that concern me.

How large does it need to be for visibility? Do I need air integration? Are the calculations too conservative?

I really want the simplest dive computer to keep me safe without over spending.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks.
Marcus Wendel