Location tracking and computer time not set

Suggestions? Comments? Features you'd like to see?
Post Reply
roger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:48 pm
Dive Computer: sensus ultra

Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by roger » Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:58 pm

Hi Nick. As always, thanks for MacDive. I really enjoy using it and my wife just got a computer from this century, an aqualung I770, and she is logging dives again for the first time in decades. Setup and sync was easy, she is loving having the sync between phone and iPad. Easy enough for old people to use.

Got a possible feature request for you. I dove for the first time in a while, I dove at a site that is in MacDive, and I had tracking on. When I went to log the dive, MacDive did not recognize that i was at a tracked location. My computer time was not in daylight savings time. No big deal. But it could be a big deal if I had tracked a lot of new locations. I’m not sure what the right solution is. Maybe the app could offer a dialog and say, hey, I notice from tracked locations that you are in a different time zone than your last logged dive site. Is your computer time set correctly? Should we be importing these dives and add a time zone offset?

Thanks again.

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by nick » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:15 am

If the time on your computer was wrong you'll need to fix the imported dates/times.

macOS has Tools > Batch Adjust to make it easier.

roger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:48 pm
Dive Computer: sensus ultra

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by roger » Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:43 am

Thanks... I had it stuck in my head that it had to be part of the import to get the tracked site (even read that section of the manual).

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by nick » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:53 am

Nope.. all the tracking is applied after the import. This was originally done to avoid issues overwriting data or doing the wrong thing, but maybe these days it could be made a little more automatic as part of the import.

Personally I quite like sitting down after a day of diving, doing the import, and then just confirming the locations (for those sites that I've done before). I find it pretty quick and easy and enjoy doing it, but maybe it would be nice to have it automate that? Or perhaps at least offer a preview of what it might look like that you could confirm? I'm not sure. There's options.

roger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:48 pm
Dive Computer: sensus ultra

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by roger » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:20 am

I agree with you, I enjoy that as well. Thanks. I had only been thinking that I had to fix the time as part of the import because the recorded site was somehow ephemeral.

roger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:48 pm
Dive Computer: sensus ultra

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by roger » Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:49 am

Have you ever thought about recording time and location on entry and exit for drift dives? Wouldn’t need to be recorded with the site, but you could record distance travelled during a drift.

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by nick » Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:04 am

Yes I’ve thought about it. The data format does not currently support it though.

roger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:48 pm
Dive Computer: sensus ultra

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by roger » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:27 am

It could be a field in the dive, not the site. Don’t know if that helps.

User avatar
nick
Site Admin
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Dive Computer: Shearwater Teric
Contact:

Re: Location tracking and computer time not set

Post by nick » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:24 am

Not really :)

Post Reply