MacDive Forums

Discussion and Support for MacDive
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:53 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:34 pm
Posts: 1
Dive Computer: Eon Steel
Hi, I love the software but I've been trying to add the GPS locations for some dives in the Andaman sea and no matter what format I try they don't show the right location. Please could you advise the format I should use?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3685
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
Hello,

iOS or macOS? Do you have an example of what you're trying?

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:44 am
Posts: 2
Dive Computer: Oceanic Atom 3.1
I have the same problem. I'm trying to set the location of a dive site in Southern California. The nearest named location on Google Maps is "Terranea Beach, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA"
The GPS coordinates I've tried pasting into the Sites > Map search field are:

33.738581, -118.393766
33°44'18.9"N 118°23'37.6"W

The location shown when I paste in the above GPS coordinates are wildly off, and the Latitude and Longitude values in the bottom right corner aren't the values pasted in the search field.
I've also tried pasting in the named location address "Terranea Beach, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA". MacDive is showing this address as in the middle of the parking lot, while Google Maps shows the beach.

The use-case seems pretty straightforward, but please let me know what I should be doing differently to properly set the site location. Thanks.
(I'm trying this on Mac, version 2.8.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3685
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
It seems that Apple Maps is not handling a number of those formats. I've made some improvements for the next release.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:44 am
Posts: 2
Dive Computer: Oceanic Atom 3.1
Thank you, for the fix and the quick reply! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS coordinates
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3685
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
No problem. Email me if you want a beta to try. I've updated both the Site Inspector and the Dive Inspector so they should handle the same formats as iOS by default, before attempting to geocode via Apple Maps.

I'm sure I tested that functionality, but it seems it just doesn't work at all. :?:

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group