MacDive Forums

Discussion and Support for MacDive
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:14 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ScubaPro M2
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:31 pm
Posts: 2
Dive Computer: OCi
Is there any hope from ScubaPro to work with MacDive?
Had an OCi and got a M2, had no idea they lock everyone out of their products.
I tried ScubaPro LogTRAK and saying bad would be an insult to the word bad.
They don't even let you export dives an any form but their's.

Let me know if there is ever any hope.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ScubaPro M2
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 177
Dive Computer: many
The newer Uwatec/Scubapro dive computers (e.g. Meridian, Mantis and Chromis) are no longer using IrDA communication, but standard usb-serial communication. That means compatibility with Mac OS X is no longer problematic. I suspect the Scubapro M2 (Mantis 2) is also on that list. So technically it's certainly possible to support them in Macdive.

Anyway, in order to support the M2, the first step will be to add support to libdivecomputer. For that you need to download the dctool command-line application, and execute it with the following options:
Code:
chmod +x dctool
./dctool -v -l meridian.log -f meridian dump -o meridian.bin /dev/tty.something

where you replace /dev/tty.something with the correct serial port. Email me the meridian.log and meridian.bin files.

If you need more assistance to run a command-line application, just ask. There is also more detailed info in the how to report dive computer download problems topic.

_________________
libdivecomputer developer
Support the libdivecomputer project with a donation!
http://www.libdivecomputer.org/donate.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ScubaPro M2
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:42 am
Posts: 20
Dive Computer: Oceanic Veo 3.0
I too have upgraded to the Galileo G2 and I am hoping I can keep using Mac Dive if they can catch up. I am clueless to what this DCTOOL is and why I need to do this? I am sorry but I am simple guy trying not to lose 75 dives in MacDive Logging software and resort to a note pad for logging.

Jeff W Waldrop :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ScubaPro M2
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:58 am
Posts: 52
Dive Computer: Cressi Leonardo
jwwphoto wrote:
I too have upgraded to the Galileo G2 and I am hoping I can keep using Mac Dive if they can catch up. I am clueless to what this DCTOOL is and why I need to do this? I am sorry but I am simple guy trying not to lose 75 dives in MacDive Logging software and resort to a note pad for logging.

Jeff W Waldrop :oops:

I'm planning in buying a new ScubaPro dive computer, so I'll be great if you can eventually get formal support for these computers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ScubaPro M2
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:33 am
Posts: 3495
Dive Computer: Shearwater Perdix AI
I'm looking in to the G2.

_________________
http://www.mac-dive.com : support@mac-dive.com : @MacDiveApp


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group